There has been a church on this site since 1337. However, the present chapel-style building dates from 1857 when it was completely rebuilt to a design by J L Pearson of London.
This is an estate church and closely related to the large Tudor-style mansion nearby. Church and house share the same drive and the slightly inappropriate huge gateway. The church bell came from Sevastopol.
This is also a church for those who particularly appreciate fine workmanship in wood. It is one of only two built by the Victorians in Dorset that employed oak both for the roof and pews, whereas the normal was pine. (The other is Frampton.) The beautifully carved roof is supported on carved stone angel capitals. There is an impressive stone pulpit, an interesting organ and some important stained glass. Note, the sad lament by a mother for her son on a grave under the east window outside.
This is a gem of a little church in a charming setting.
The Trust gratefully acknowledges images and text by Robin Adeney ©